Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu is an Indian politician and the current Vice President of India and the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha, in office since 11 August 2017. 13th Vice President of India

Latest Who is Who in India – 2020

Name Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu
Father’s Name: Late Shri Rangaiah Naidu
Mother’s Name: Late Shrimati Ramanamma
Date of Birth: 1/7/1949
Place of Birth: Chavatapalem, SPSR Nellore District, Andhra Pradesh
Marital Status: Married
Spouse’s Name: Shrimati Muppavarapu Usha
Children: One Son and One daughter
Educational Qualifications: B.A., B.L. (Educated at V.R. High School, Nellore; V.R. College, Nellore and Law College, Andhra University, Visakhapatnam)
Profession: Agriculturist/Farmer, Political and Social worker
Positions held:1971: President, Students’ Union, V.R. College, Nellore
1973-74: President, Students Union, Andhra University Colleges
1974:Convener, Lok Nayak Jai Prakash Narayan Kshatra Sangharsh Samiti of Andhra Pradesh
1977-80: President, Youth Wing of Janata Party, Andhra Pradesh
1978-83 & 1983-85: Member, Legislative Assembly, Andhra Pradesh
1980-83: Vice-President, Youth Wing of All India B.J.P.
1980-85: Leader, B.J.P. Legislature Party in Andhra Pradesh
1985-88: General Secretary, Andhra Pradesh State B.J.P.
1988-93: President, Andhra Pradesh State Unit of B.J.P.
1993 -2000: General Secretary, All India B.J.P.
1996 – 2000: Secretary (i) BJP Parliamentary Board, & (ii) BJP Central Election Committee, and (iii) Spokesperson, BJP
April 1998: Elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka (1st term)
1998 – 99: Member, Committee on Home Affairs and Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Agriculture
1998 – 2001 & 2005 – 2013: Member, Tobacco Board
1999 – 2000: Member, Committee on Finance
Jan 2000: Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Rural Development
2000 (Sept) -2002 (June): Minister of Rural Development, Government of India
2002 (July) – 2004 (Oct): National President, B.J.P.
2004 (Jan) – 2004 (Feb): Member, Committee on External Affairs
June 2004: Re-elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka (2nd term)
2004 – 06: Member, Standing Committee on Finance
2005: Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Agriculture and Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution
2006 – 2008: Chairman, Committee on Petitions (Rajya Sabha)
2006 onwards: Member, (i) BJP Parliamentary Board, and (ii) BJP Central Election Committee
2008 – 2014: Chairman, Committee on Home Affairs (Rajya Sabha)
June 2010: Re-elected to Rajya Sabha in June, 2010 from Karnataka (3rd term)
2011 (Dec) – 2014 (May): Parliamentary Forum on Disaster Management
26 May 2014 – 5 July, 2016: Minister for Urban Development, Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation and Parliamentary Affairs ;
June, 2016 – Re-elected to Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan (4th term)
6th July, 2016 – 17 July 2017: Minister for Urban Development, Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation, and Information and Broadcasting.